Finnish composer Magnus Lindberg's Seht die Sonne was commissioned jointly by the Berliner Philharmoniker and the San Francisco Symphony, and unveiled under the baton of Sir Simon Rattle in Berlin last year. Taking its title from the last chorus in Schoenberg's Gurrelieder, it was written for the same scale of forces as for that pinnacle of Viennese High Romanticism, Mahler's Ninth Symphony.

Sibelius's First was his most Russian symphony, with a touch of Tchaikovsky in its language, but evidently the work of a master symphonist in the making.

Magnus Lindberg Seht die Sonne (UK premiere) (29 mins)

Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No.3 (43 mins)


Sibelius Symphony No.1 (38 mins)

Nikolai Lugansky piano

Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra

Jukka-Pekka Saraste conductor

Prom 59: Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra

Saturday 30 August, 7.30pm - c10.05pm

Venue: Royal Albert Hallsd
Notify a friendNotify a friendPrint story Print story Text: - Ed.

Genre\Classical\Classical, Concerts\Outside Norway