MIC / Ballade artikkel
Utskrift fra mic.no / ballade.no

Johan Halvorsen: Fossegrimen, Greetings to Roosevelt cover (150x150)Johan Halvorsen: Fossegrimen/Greeting to Roosevelt

Publisert: 10/15/2003 av Tomas Lauvland Pettersen


MIC’s Listen to Norway profile series continues with Simax’ Johan Halvorsen release “Fossegrimen/Greeting to Roosevelt”

Fossegrimen is partly based upon the tale of Norway’s most celebrated fiddler, Torgeir Augunsson – better known as Myllarguten. Augunsson was said to have obtained his musical craft from Fossegrimen – the musical master of all underground creatures. Fossegrimen was written by actor and novelist Sigurd Eldegard, and legendary Norwegian composer Johan Halvorsen composed the music for this so-called “troll-play in four parts”. In addition to Fossegrimen, the listener is also treated to Greeting to Roosevelt, a work that the Norwegian Nobel committee commissioned to Halvorsen in order to commemorate the Norwegian association with America. Both works evince an outstanding ability to incorporate disparate material into a unified musical context and are masterfully interpreted by soloist Arve Moen Bergset and the Latvian National Symphony Orchestra conducted by Terje Mikkelsen.

Johan Halvorsen: Fossegrimen/Greeting to Roosevelt (Simax Classics PSC1207)


Related companies:


Related persons:

Johan Halvorsen, Composer

Arve Moen Bergset, Violinist, Folk singer

Terje Wik Mikkelsen, Conductor

Related articles:

Johan Halvorsen - Biography

Johan Halvorsen - Beyond the Transitory

27.11.2003 Sigurd Eldegard: Hardingfelespel frå Årdal

MIC-pages is managed by Aslak Oppebøen
Tel: +47 90175338 · aslak@musicnorway.no