MIC / Ballade artikkel
Utskrift fra mic.no / ballade.no

Ensemble Ernst / Thomas Rimul: Adderley / Sciarrino / Grenager / Husby

Publisert: 12/02/2003 av Tomas Lauvland Pettersen


MICs Listen to Norway series continues with Ensemble Ernst / Thomas Rimul: Adderley / Sciarrino / Grenager / Husby

Led by young and prolific conductor Thomas Rimul one of Scandinavia’s central contemporary music ensembles, the Ensemble Ernst, is here seen performing works by composers Mark Adderley, Salvatore Sciarrino, Lene Grenager and Kaare Dyvik Husby. A common denominator for the featured works could be described as states of existence; emotional tableaux with controlled dynamic outbursts that are not entirely the result of musical logic, but rather than representations of physiological functions such as breathing or heartbeats. The pieces manifest themselves in the listener’s mind as passages of searching and exploration with finalising conclusions that are authoritatively underlined by both the ensemble and its conductor.

Related companies:

Ensemble Ernst

Related persons:

Øyvind Nyvoll

Thomas Rimul

Related articles:

Dagfinn Rosnes - Biography

MIC-pages is managed by Aslak Oppebøen
Tel: +47 90175338 · aslak@musicnorway.no