MIC / Ballade artikkel
Utskrift fra mic.no / ballade.no

King Midas - The Man From The Gas Station (220x220)And the nominees are…

Publisert: 12/04/2003 av Bente Kalsnes


The nominees for the Alarm award 2004 are official. MIC’s readers will recognise several of the names, such as Turbonegro, Ephemera, Ralph Myerz & The Jack Herren Band, and King Midas.

As part of the by:Larm festival in Bergen, the award is handed out to up as well as coming artists. Spellemannprisen, the Norwegian Grammy Award, is still the most established prize for music in Norway. Nevertheless, the Alarm Award has become an important stage for young artists to display their talents. As the Alarm Foundation states: “Alarm will increase focus and knowledge of Norwegian quality music in general. Alarm will become the most important platform for exposing Norwegian artists abroad and within Norway”.

73 journalists have nominated candidates within the categories rock, pop, metal, hip hop/rap, electronica, jazz, song, and live. But the final vote is left to the listeners. As earlier years, anyone can register his or her vote at Alarm’s web site. This year, Turbonegro and King Midas are nominated in three categories, while Ephemera and Ralph Myerz appear in two categories. The other nominees are:

Rock :
Turboneger - Scandinavian Leather
King Midas - Romeo Turn
Ricochets - The Ghost Of Our Love
Amulet - Danger! Danger!
Sgt. Petter - It's A Record

Pop :
Julian Berntzen - Waffy Town
Magnet - On Your Side
Ephemera - Air
Thomas Dybdahl - Stray Dogs
Karen Jo Fields - Chase The Blue

Metal :
Dimmu Borgir - Death Cult Armageddon
El Caco - Solid Rest
The Cumshots - Norwegian Jesus
Enslaved - Below the Lights
Thulsa Doom - ...And Then Take You To A Place Where Jars Are Kept

Hip hop/ Rap :
Paperboys - The Great Escape
Equicez - State of Emergency - Generation Equiz
Jaa9 & OnklP - Bondegrammatikk - The Mixtape
Spetakkel - Spetakkel
Diaz - Velkommen hjem, Andres

Electronica :
Ralph Myerz & The Jack Herren Band - A Special Album
Pleasure - Pleasure
Xploding Plastix - The Donca Matic Singalongs
Tøyen - Did You Bring
Erlend Øye - Unrest

Jazz :
Atomic - Boom Boom
Supersilent - Supersilent 6
Come Shine - With The Norwegian Radio Orchestra In Concert
Håvard Wiik Trio - Postures
Paal Nilsen-Love / Ken Wandermark - Dual

Låt :
Ephemera - Girls Keep Secrets In The Strangest Ways
Equicez - Barnslig
Ricochets - The Ghost Of Our Love
King Midas - Romeo Turn
Turboneger - Fuck The World

Live :
Ralph Myerz & The Jack Herren Band
King Midas
The International Tussler Society

Related companies:


Alarm Music Award

Norwegian "Grammy" Award


Ralph Myerz and the Jack Herren Band


King Midas

Related persons:

Svein Bjørge, General Manager

Bjarne Zachariassen, Head of the Board

Related events:

Alarm 2004

Related articles:

Strong public turnout for by:Larm in Trondheim

Winners of Spellemannsprisen announced

Ready for next year’s by:Larm

09.12.2004 Alarm nominations ready

09.03.2004 El Caco: Solid Rest

01.03.2004 Ladies night at the Norwegian Grammy show

09.02.2004 Alarming names

03.02.2004 By:Larm: from Octavia Sperati to Tine Ågotnes

30.01.2004 By:Larm: from Frode Fivel to Null$katte$nylterne

28.01.2004 Who’s who at by:Larm

11.12.2003 Hard-hitting Norwegians on tour

MIC-pages is managed by Aslak Oppebøen
Tel: +47 90175338 · aslak@musicnorway.no