MIC / Ballade artikkel
Utskrift fra mic.no / ballade.no

Robert Normann - The Definitive Collection 1950-71, Vol.3 (140x140)Robert Normann: The definitive collection 1938 - 41 vol 1 / 1942 - 54, vol 2

Publisert: 01/21/2005 av Tomas Lauvland Pettersen


MIC’s Listen to Norway series continues with Robert Normann: The definitive collection vol. 1/2.

The legendary guitarist Robert Normann is a true giant in Norwegian jazz. The internationally renowned player is acknowledged as one of the instrument’s true original jazz pioneers. Even Django Reinhardt was known to admire this master of swing on six strings, he once said: “Why do you want me to come to Norway? You’ve got Robert Normann!” The quiet and modest self-taught guitar icon was a master of swing, phrasing, note choices, accompaniment and soloing. One of the first to experiment with improvisation, Normann is credited as being one of the founders of Norwegian jazz. These two compilations outline Normann’s development as a performer from the very first pre-war swing releases to the elegant an cool late fifties outings. The world-class guitarist is immortalized on this series of compilations – the definitive map of Normann’s musical universe.

Related companies:

Normann Records AS

Related persons:

Robert Normann, Guitarist

MIC-pages is managed by Aslak Oppebøen
Tel: +47 90175338 · aslak@musicnorway.no