MIC / Ballade artikkel
Utskrift fra mic.no / ballade.no

Rolf Erik Nystrøm (150x216)Seven Winds

Publisert: 09/14/2009 av Tomas Lauvland Pettersen


Over the last twelve years, Unni Løvlid, Rolf Erik Nystrøm and Becaye Aw have performed together in a variety of duo settings. The three joined forces last year following the commissioning of a work featuring music written to accompany the words of writer Olav H. Hauge to be premiered at a key domestic festival. Like the Hauge poems, Seven Winds’ music has its roots in Norwegian folklore, and much in the same way as Hauge employs his distinct dialect to add colour to themes, poems and histories from the entire world, Seven Winds fuse their distinct musical dialects with global influences. During her career, Unni Løvlid has devoted much time to focus on local Norwegian vocal traditions, but she has also found time to collaborate with leading performers on the global stage. Rolf Erik Nystrøm is a highly respected saxophonist and contemporary post-classical composer with a resume that includes projects representing a wide range of styles and genres with an emphasis on new music. Becaye Aw originally hails from Mauritania but grew up in Senegal where he performed with such heavyweights as Baaba Maal and Masour Seck. In order to adapt the guitar to traditional Senegalese repertoire, he has developed a distinct playing style that adds colour and spark to this exciting trio. Seven Winds have collaborated with Chinese, Sri Lankan and Zanzibar performers and have successfully adapted Hauge’s poems for mandarin, Hindi and Swahili audiences.

Seven Winds' MySpace site

Related companies:

Folkelarm ()

Related persons:

Rolf-Erik Nystrøm, Saxophonist

Becaye Aw, Guitarist

Related articles:

15.09.2009 Folkelarm ’09 performer profiles

MIC-pages is managed by Aslak Oppebøen
Tel: +47 90175338 · aslak@musicnorway.no